Cocoa Beach Half Marathon Training – 4 weeks left

I’m excited to be back in the game after doing a little backwards taper week to recover from Volition America. I only have a few weeks until my next half marathon (read this post if you’re wondering why I’m doing two races so close together) so I’m going to try and get everything I can out of this tiny training cycle.

During my last training cycle (also first training cycle) I hardly cross trained or did any speed work, so I’m focusing on adding those things this time. I’m especially excited about a barre class I’m signed up for this week at Barre Revolution. Barre workouts are based in ballet and dance movements, so I will probably be terrible at it. 🙂 I shall keep you updated on how that goes.

Misty Copeland is awesome CasiRuns
Misty Copeland – because she rocks

In other cross-training news, I got a nice little strength workout in over the weekend. I set my watch for 1 minute intervals, with 30 seconds of rest between each, repeating for a total of 30 minutes. Each minute I would do a different variation of squats, or planks, push-ups, balance exercises, etc. It was fun changing it up so often and I worked up a good sweat without really thinking about it. I really like body weight exercises because they’re no-fuss, and I know a ton of them so I was able to think of what to do pretty easily. My bum was quite sore the next day so I think I’ll be repeating that workout!

I did get in a six mile run on Sunday morning. It was cooler than normal 🙂 but still horrendously humid 😦 But check out this sunrise:

sunrise 30 minutes apart CasiRuns
Left sunrise: 7:17 am, Right sunrise: 7:46 am.

The rest of the weekend was spent relaxing with Matt’s parents and chilling in our Eno with the pup.

a boy and his dog, and an Eno. CasiRuns
New favorite picture ever.

As far as speed work goes, I’m trying to ease into it but at the same time I’m pretty serious about getting faster. Last night I ran 3 miles at a 10:45 pace, which is 15 seconds faster than my “easy” pace but it’s not exactly a “hard” pace. Usually my legs gravitate towards 10:15 or 10:30 if I’m trying to do something harder-effort. It actually just felt awkward to hold 10:45, but I was surprised to see that I held the pace pretty steadily throughout the run (usually my paces look like a wiggly roller coaster.) At the very end of the run a did a couple of pickups, or strides, or whatever you’d like to call them. Basically I just accelerated for 10 paces and held a hard run (not quite a sprint) for 5-10 paces, then slowed down to a jog to recover. It felt good to get my legs turning over quickly and I finished the run feeling proud of myself, which is always nice. 🙂

I’m looking forward to the rest of this week! Lots of new things to look forward to!

One thought on “Cocoa Beach Half Marathon Training – 4 weeks left

Leave a Reply

